Tradition of Giving

Each year our firm selects a public charity that we feel captures the spirit of the season, and contributes on behalf of our clients and friends.

While choosing an organization to give money to might seem fun and easy, we feel that if we are privileged to have extra to share, we are morally obligated to make sure it is used effectively. Accordingly, we screen each potential charity for financial stewardship using Charity Navigator, GuideStar and similar rating organizations. For our 2017 donation, we used an additional resource, the University of Pennsylvania’s Center for High Impact Philanthropy (CHIP), the only university-based center we found with a singular focus on quantifying impact.

This year CHIP celebrated its 10th anniversary and issued its Disaster Relief Guide, which is especially timely in the wake of multiple recent natural disasters. Their advice: “Unless you are already familiar with local organizations working on hurricane relief, a good option can be giving to a fund run by a reputable entity such as GlobalGiving, [which has] already set up pooled funds to channel money to local grantees for long-term rebuilding efforts...”

GlobalGiving has been a trailblazer since 2002 in crowdfunding for grassroots charity. For disaster relief, GlobalGiving fully vets and partners with local organizations that are best-positioned to assist immediate and ongoing community recovery and development. Charity Navigator has rated GlobalGiving 4 out of 4 stars; GuideStar gave it a Platinum rating. Rather than make one donation from our firm, we have given each of our consultants a gift card to apply to the disaster relief fund or to one or more of the 3,000+ projects listed on www.globalgiving.com in the U.S. and more than 160 countries. They will receive updates through the platform about the progress of the projects they chose.

Previous Recipients

2016 Direct Relief www.directrelief.org

2015 International Rescue Committee www.rescue.org

2014 Malala Fund www.malala.org

2013 Mandela Rhodes Foundation www.mandelarhodes.org

2012 American Red Cross www.redcross.org

2011 DonorsChoose.org www.donorschoose.org

2010 Solar Cookers International www.solarcookers.org

2009 The Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia www.chop.edu

2008  Doctors Without Borders www.msf.org

2007  The Amy Foundation www.amyfoundation.org

2006  Heifer International www.heifer.org

2005  AmeriCares  www.americares.org

2004  Teach for America  www.teachforamerica.org

2003  Community Foodbank of NJ  www.njfoodbank.org

2002  Starlight Children's Foundation  www.starlight.org

2001  Robin Hood  www.robinhood.org

2000  City Harvest  www.cityharvest.org

G+