Tradition of Giving

Each year our firm selects a public charity that we feel captures the spirit of the season, and contributes on behalf of our clients and friends.

In 2019, based on a colleague’s emphatic recommendation, we selected the Philadelphia Ronald McDonald House, www.philarmh.org, which provides lodging for families of critically ill children receiving treatment at city hospitals. He encountered it when his newborn daughter was hospitalized, and he stayed in Philadelphia for more than a month. The expansive and comfortable facilities, all-volunteer staffing, and invaluable support for families (many of whom are not local) made a deep impression on him. For a room, a nominal fee of $15/night is requested.

Philadelphia’s is the very first Ronald McDonald House, founded in 1974, and the model for more than 285 houses worldwide. The chapter operates two houses in Philadelphia, runs a camp for oncology patients and their siblings, and offers family rooms in the Oncology and Cardiac Centers at The Children's Hospital of Philadelphia to provide a respite space away from the bedside. Charity Navigator rates the Philadelphia chapter 4/4 stars and recently gave its parent, Ronald McDonald House Charities, a perfect 100/100 for finances, accountability and transparency.

Previous Recipients

2018 Camp Kesem www.campkesem.org

2017 GlobalGiving www.globalgiving.com

2016 Direct Relief www.directrelief.org

2015 International Rescue Committee www.rescue.org

2014 Malala Fund www.malala.org

2013 Mandela Rhodes Foundation www.mandelarhodes.org

2012 American Red Cross www.redcross.org

2011 DonorsChoose.org www.donorschoose.org

2010 Solar Cookers International www.solarcookers.org

2009 The Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia www.chop.edu

2008  Doctors Without Borders www.msf.org

2007  The Amy Foundation www.amyfoundation.org

2006  Heifer International www.heifer.org

2005  AmeriCares  www.americares.org

2004  Teach for America  www.teachforamerica.org

2003  Community Foodbank of NJ  www.njfoodbank.org

2002  Starlight Children's Foundation  www.starlight.org

2001  Robin Hood  www.robinhood.org

2000  City Harvest  www.cityharvest.org

G+